cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
pkositz
Frequent Visitor

Can't Rename File Error

Hello all,

This is my first time using power automate and I am trying to rename a file based on a clipboardtext. While I can rename the file by adding a datetime to the filename without any issue, when I try to set new name using the clipboard text I get this error:

Microsoft.Flow.RPA.Desktop.Modules.SDK.ActionException: Can't rename file ---> System.ArgumentException: Illegal characters in path.
at System.IO.Path.CheckInvalidPathChars(String path, Boolean checkAdditional)
at System.IO.Path.Combine(String path1, String path2)
at Microsoft.Flow.RPA.Desktop.Modules.File.Actions.RenameFilesAction.Execute(ActionContext context)
--- End of inner exception stack trace ---
at Microsoft.Flow.RPA.Desktop.Modules.File.Actions.RenameFilesAction.Execute(ActionContext context)
at Microsoft.Flow.RPA.Desktop.Robin.Engine.Execution.ActionRunner.Run(IActionStatement statement, Dictionary`2 inputArguments, Dictionary`2 outputArguments)

The clipboard copies a line from an excel file and stores it just to rename the file in the folder. It does not contain any special characters that would stop the file from being renamed.

Any help would be appreciated.  

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Ankesh_49
Super User
Super User

It should be %TextList2[0]% in your Trim and Rename file action. Please try

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10
Ankesh_49
Super User
Super User

@pkositz  Could you please use display message action and try to see which text is coming in clipboardtext variable.

it may give us a clue about the issue you are encountering.

Hope it helps!!

Cheers,

Ankesh

--------------------------------

If this post helps answer your question, please click on “Accept as Solution” to help other members find it more quickly. If you thought this post was helpful, please give it a Thumbs Up.

pkositz
Frequent Visitor

pkositz_0-1658770627516.png