cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
arcylix
Frequent Visitor

File name extraction, separate components into variable

Hi, everyone! I am relatively new to PAD, but I have seen how it can help increase my efficiency at work. With that said, I think I need a breakdown/better examples for what I want to do, if it is at all possible.

I work at a medical office, and daily, I am gathering information for patients to clear them for upcoming procedures. It is quite tedious to download a file, then upload the file, and search for the next file. From what I've researched, however, it seems that the following SHOULD be possible.

1. I still have to manually download a file, but I can save the file in this format: patient mrn - document type - date.pdf (so, for example, "12345 - ekg - 092421.pdf". I would like, upon file creation, for PAD to extract the three pieces of information and put them into a variable.

2. Once the information has been extracted, I want it to go to our EMR, enter in the patient's MRN, go to New Documents, type in the document type, then enter in the date, then upload the correct file.

I hope this makes sense, and I hope it is possible, or at least close enough to possible. Any feedback would be greatly appreciated! I'm still trying to figure everything out. Thank you!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
MichaelAnnis
Super User
Super User

1)  download the file to a separate folder that is apart from where you keep all the other files.  This folder will act as a "to be processed" folder, and we can have PAD move it to the standard folder once the process is complete.

2)  Having the "to be processed" folder also allows you to run this whenever you want.  So, if there is 1 file or many in the "to be processed" it will process them all.  In Power Automate Desktop, without a paid license, you have to initiate the run manually.  So, you can do this as often as you want.

The flow will look something like this: