cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
jwr2454

Need help writing a flow

I need to grab values from each file in a folder and paste them into a single excel workbook. I've tried to write a flow for that gets the files in the folder and the runs a for each loop to copy and paste the values. The flow runs through all of the files but for some reason the variables aren't updating for each file, so the flow just writes the same value for each file. Please let me know if anyone can help with this. I am very new to power automate and I can't figure out how to make this work. 

Thanks in advance!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

This is going to sounds stupid, but try giving it a "Wait (1)" command after "Rename file" and after the last "Close Excel"

View solution in original post

18 REPLIES 18
MichaelAnnis
Super User
Super User

Paste the loop part of your flow so we can see where it is repeating itself.

My guess is you are trying to reference %Files% instead of %CurrentItem% or something along those lines.

Thanks,

Mike

jwr2454

jwr2454_0-1644602428465.png

Here is the flow 

Id remove that Launch Excel from the loop, stick it above.

Not sure where your getting the first free row from ?

Also, I would have 2 separate Excel instances rather than attach, I find it a bit flaky.

So there actually is 2 Excel instances. 

The first one at the top is "ExcelInstance" - this is the master file I need to past the data into. 

Then the loop is set up with the following steps for each file in the folder:

-Renames "CurrentItem" from %Files% to "Extract"

-launches the file named "Extract" - this is "ExcelInstance2"

-reads the data from "ExcelInstance2" - stores it as "NJClass12020"

-gets the first available row from "ExcelInstance"'

-writes the data stored in "NJClass12020" to the firstavailable row in "ExcelInstance"

-Closes "ExcelInstance2"

MichaelAnnis_0-1644603951449.png