cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
realbluesky
Regular Visitor

PAD Live Web Helper doesn't do anything in Chrome

Hi - Total PAD noob here. Tech savvy but not a web dev. Trying to get started extracting data from a Chrome page.

I have Installed Chrome extension and re-booted. Extension icon is blue.

I'm in the "Extract data from a web page" interface, and my instance is selected. When I click into the page (or any webpage) the Live Web Helper pops up as it should.

However, I don't get any interaction, like frames being outlined or elements being recognized on mouseover or selection, nothing. When I right click elements I just get their usual Chrome right click options. Something is clearly not connected.   

Help?

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Accepted Solutions

Thanks. I figured out the problem.

I have two different Chrome profiles (work & home) running at the same time. My flow needed to connect to an open "work" webpage, and I told PAD to attach to the page "by title", and manually populated the title to join to.

What I didn't realize was that it was never connected, and I gave up on Chrome and got it to work in Edge.

Now, smarter, I went back to Chrome and can see that PAD was only recognizing open pages on my "home" profile. When I opened the page under my "home" Chrome profile, I was able to actually select the page title from the dropdown, and achieve a connection and properly select page elements.

Three things I learned which might help somebody:

(1) PAD is seriously lacking in the user-friendly department. It should indicate (for web connections) that (a) selecting from the dropdown is required, and (b) whether or not connection has been achieved.

(2) PAD only seems to recognize one open Chrome profile, so if you have two open profiles and its not working, try the other one.