cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
CParsons09
Helper I
Helper I

PAD flow breaks when running outside of editing

I have a web browser flow that works just fine when you run it while in edit mode, but stops working when running from the dashboard view. Does anyone have any suggestions on what might be causing this? 

The only thing I have thought of so far is that maybe it runs faster when not in editing mode (since it doesn't have the UI task of showing which step it is on each time), causing it to attempt a step before the web browser is ready. 

I would like to be able to pass this off to the business user to run, but can't currently do that if it doesn't run correctly without being in edit mode. 

I'm fairly new to PAD and RPA in general so any help would be greatly appreciated!

4 REPLIES 4
MichaelAnnis
Super User
Super User

Most of the web page PAD commands have "wait for page to load" for something like click web link or launch browser.  If you can't find those, you can always say "wait for image to exist."  The key to using image based commands would be that he should have the same size monitor and the same ratio settings as you.  Regardless, I would put a timeout failure on the wait for image double that of what you think it should take for the page to load.  That way, if it doesn't find the image (he's remote on his laptop or something), it will still move forward.

Best of luck!

PetrosF-MSFT
Microsoft
Microsoft

@CParsons09 the main difference between running from the Designer and running from the Console, as you mentioned, it's speed. So in that case some wait actions would do the trick. If it's a web automation, then the "Wait for web page content" action could help.