cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
EasyAutomation

Power Automated Desktop With Microsoft Edge

Good morning, 

I am new to Power Automate, but loving the potential. My issue is that when I try to run Power Automate to open a new instance of Microsoft Edge, it will--but then I get the message "Failed to assume control of Microsoft Edge." 

I have tried uninstalling and reinstalling the add-on in the Edge Browser, changed the setting to not allow programs to run in the background as recommended, and etc. 

I am trying to access a website, login to that website, download a CSV file, and then use that CSV file to load data into another file. Any suggestions are appreciated. 

I have also tried to do the same with Google Chrome, and I get the same error, only "Failed to assume control of Google Chrome."

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
EasyAutomation

I have now found that it appears being set up in a "dual monitor" situation has an impact on how this works. When I ran in single monitor just on the computer alone, it is able to grab connection to the browser every time. I am not sure how to get around it otherwise, but that seems to have fixed the issue when I just run the computer with no external monitors. 

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
MichaelAnnis
Super User
Super User

This is a very odd error to have; however, you can always use 'Wait for Window' and then 'Focus Window' and see if that helps.  If these don't help.  Something isn't connecting, and if you are just getting started, I would recommend an uninstall, reinstall, because it's not normal to have these issues.

If you don't want to uninstall, then the last option is to navigate through Chrome using Send Keys.  For example {Control}(l) *that's a lowercase L* will get you to the address bar.

Thank you for your quick reply!