cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
jon2249
Frequent Visitor

Visit Link in Excel based on User Input

I am new to PowerAutomate Desktop so please excuse me.

I am requesting the user to enter in a hotel Name in a  display input dialog. Lets Say they put in Benjamin. I would like Power Automate to copy the link in E4 and open in the browser. I was not sure if i should set the whole excel document as a variable path or if there is an easier way to do this. Thanks for your insight.

jon2249_2-1653343397507.png

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
MichaelAnnis
Super User
Super User

Launch Excel

Get first free row

Read from Excel C2 to C & %FirstFreeRow - 1% 'this is our list of hotels

Display select from list Dialog:

MichaelAnnis_1-1653345669510.png

Here is what the result looks like:

MichaelAnnis_0-1653345655814.png

This makes it so they can't make a bad selection.

Then, Read from Excel E & %SelectedIndex + 2% 'remember, indexes are 0 based, so Courtyard is 0, Residence Inn is 1, and so on.  So we add 2 to this index to get back to the corresponding row.  The URL for Courtyard is on E2 or E(0 + 2) where 0 is the %SelectedIndex%.

In my example, I selected Benjamin, Index 2, and %ExcelData2% brought back www.benjaminhotel.com:

MichaelAnnis_2-1653346049491.png

Then, just Launch Chrome with %ExcelData2% and you should be good to go.

Best of luck!

View solution in original post

2 REPLIES 2
MichaelAnnis
Super User
Super User

Launch Excel

Get first free row

Read from Excel C2 to C & %FirstFreeRow - 1% 'this is our list of hotels

Display select from list Dialog:

MichaelAnnis_1-1653345669510.png

Here is what the result looks like:

MichaelAnnis_0-1653345655814.png

This makes it so they can't make a bad selection.