cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Syndicate_Admin
Administrator
Administrator

Power Bi connection with ODB (Excel File)

Hi
I'm relatively new to Power BI, I have an exel spreadsheet with 80,000 rows and I would like to import it into power BI using an ODBC connection, so that before importing I can make a query bringing only what I need.
however, I can't make the connection string with the Excel table.
The Excel file is saved locally, I've tried everything, I would really appreciate the help of this community to make this connection.

Yours sincerely

6 REPLIES 6
Syndicate_Admin
Administrator
Administrator

Hi,

Why not using the regular Excel file connection ?

And then use Power Query to filter the data you need ?

Power Query will analyse the 1000 first rows of your source, and offers you the possibility to filter, transform, agregate the data you need.

Then you'll work on your visual and calculation in DAX with Power BI Desktop and it should be fine.

I've been working with Excel files even longer than 100 000 rows without any problems.

Hope it helps

Thank you for your answer, however I hope to have a performance gain, in this way I hope to eliminate many unnecessary steps

Yours sincerely

so, you wouldn't have any example for me to use?

Syndicate_Admin
Administrator
Administrator

Hi @fersale ,

If you want to filter before importing, you can import the excel data to SQL Server database first. When you connect SQL Server to Power BI Desktop, specify a SQL statement to filter.

vstephenmsft_0-1650444568706.png

Reference: Tutorial: Connect to on-premises data in SQL Server - Power BI | Microsoft Docs.

Best Regards,

Stephen Tao

If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

Syndicate_Admin
Administrator
Administrator

Hi @fersale ,

Could you tell me if your problem has been solved?