Level: Powered On
Accepted Solution

Lookup on SQL Server

Hi,

I'm new to this so bear with me please

I've got a SQL server, and there's say 2 related tables, 'Opportunities', and 'Owners'.

Opportunities has a lookup of an Owner. In Access Web App (the current tool), we look up using the Display Name field, although obviously it's the Owner ID which is the key.

When I connect to the Opportunities table in Power Apps, it's bringing through the Owner lookup field in as an integer, and showing the Owner ID field - fine. But how can I cange this to show the Owner Display Name field in both the details screen and in an edit screen? And do I have to bring in the Owner table also as a Data Source?

Thanks

Joe 

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Level 10

Re: Lookup on SQL Server

Hi @jmwiplow

Here is the best way to do what you want to do, assuming owners has 500 or fewer records:

1. Have an initial screen in the app to welcome the user, with no functionality except a button to proceed
    This is so that you can cache any lookup tables, this improves performance tremendously
  2. Set the Disabled property of the button to be:
    IsEmpty('[Access].[Owners]')
    This is so that you give the PowerApp time to connect the data source
  3. Set the OnSelect property of the button to be:
    ClearCollect(CachedOwners, '[Access].[Owners]'); Navigate(MyFirstScreen, None)
    This is so that you cache the lookup data, may take a few seconds but it is worth it
  4. Then, anywhere you need to display the owner name, you can look up to the cached data instead of needing to call the server.  This is most effective in a gallery, where otherwise the server would be called for every line. For example a text box text property would be set to:
    LookUp(CachedOwners, ThisItem.OwnerLookupField, DisplayNameField)

I am a heavy user of Access Web Apps and with a few tricks PowerApps can do great things with AWA as a back-end.