cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Anonymous
Not applicable

SharePoint List: Read values from Excel attachments and input them back into the List

Hi, I'm very new to Power Automate but my office is looking to use it for some urgent business needs. We have a SharePoint List where people add new manifests and input all the relative information for them, and then attach a manifest document (usually xlsx) to each item in an "Attachments" column. The issue is that some people have not been filling in all the columns on the List; however, the attached manifest document sometimes have the info that is missing. I want to know is it possible to make a flow that will:

1. Filter the SharePoint List by certain conditions (ex. Customers = AA, Load # = "Empty")
  2. Based on those filters, open the "Attachments" column and open the manifest Excel file
  3. Read a value based on the column name (ex. Load = 3, 4, 5)
  4. Input that value back into a SharePoint column (ex. now the Load # Column has 3, 4, 5 for Customer AA)

I've only ever done a basic automatic email flow, so I was wondering is it even possible for Power to read from Excel attachments like I mentioned? How would I connect it to a certain column in the SharePoint connector? Any help or guidance is appreciated

4 REPLIES 4
manuelstgomes
Community Champion
Community Champion

Hi @Anonymous 

Let's do it step-by-step.

Can you please share your initial Flow so that we can work from there?

Cheers
Manuel

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
If I have answered your question, please mark your post as Solved.
If you like my response, please give it a Thumbs Up.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi Manuel thank you for the reply,