cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Lewispkelly

Adding numbers to a row in SmartSheets

Hi,

I'm very new to Power Automate/Flows and I'm trying to build a Flow that takes a table from an Excel workbook and add it as new rows to a SmartSheets sheet. the issues I'm finding it the numbers in the table have a leading apostrophe added when copied in to SmartSheets. This means that SmartSheets can't use the information to create a chart as they are 'seen' as text.

the numbers are formatted as numbers in the Excel workbook and if I copy and paste the values manually, they are pasted as numbers.

I've tried to use the Float expression (the numbers have decimal points) when adding the values to SmartSheets but that gives me the same result. I did look at the data operation but I'm not really sure where to start.

Any advice on how to get the numbers to copy as numbers without the leading apostrophe will be greatly appreciated

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Hi @Lewispkelly,

Yes, the leading apostrophe (') is hidden, but if you using Get a sheet data in after insert the data into SmartSheet, the apostrophe won't appear, they just show without any apostrophe.

Screenshot 2020-11-09 163133.jpg

In the SmartSheet, you could create helper columns and use a VALUE(SUBSTITUTE(........, "'", "")) to remove the apostrophe and convert it into a numerical value.

Best Regards,
Community Support Team _ Lin Tu
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
v-litu-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @Lewispkelly,

I created a simple Flow to reproduce your issue, but not find the same problem, there is no leading apostrophe created in the SmartSheet:

Flow:

Screenshot 2020-10-31 151100.jpg

Run result:

Screenshot 2020-10-31 151139.jpg