cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
MEWS

Automatic Flow Not Triggering (Event Grid)

Hi All,

I should say up front that I'm new to Azure, EventGrid and Flow so apologies in advance if any of the following doesn't make sense.

I have a very simple flow which I want to trigger automatically when EventGrid is notified of a data change in my application.  I can see that the change is being sent successfully from my application to EventGrid (via web services) and I can see the event itself through the Event Grid Viewer that's available as a template on GitHub.  However, even though all is seemingly well with Event Grid and my flow is never triggered.

After trying to find a solution by searching on line I saw that some users had found that turning the flow on and off again would resolve their problem.  I've tried this and on 2 occassions (out of many attempts at doing this) it has indeed lead to the flow being triggered.  Each time it was only triggered once though, not once for each outstanding item in my EventGrid which I would have have expected to fire the Flow automatically had it been working. 

I'm now wondering whether turning it off/on again is actually "fixing" the problem at all or whether the flow is just being triggered because it's being turned on regardless of anything to do with EventGrid.  I've seen posts from other users who think turning a flow on triggers it, even when the relevant conditions haven't been met.

So, has anyone managed to get flow to successfully send a notification email when an event is registered in EventGrid?  Does anyone have any idea as to what the problem might be?