cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Excelrocks
Level: Powered On

Excel table add date to email help

Hi team

I'm very new to MS flow but reasonably experienced with excel. I love the potential it offers and can see it automating the email process I currently do manually where I emailed people based on data (numbers and dates) contained in an excel file.

I have an excel table being stored on onedrive. And yes this has dates recording events in the past (payment dates).

I have successfully created a flow reading the table but the common 'excel date as numbers' appears in the email body. I have several colums in my excel file and the date column is the problem child 🙂

It is with much embarassment that I have spent today trying to work out what formula to use and where in my flow do I place the formula which fixes the excel date problem. I've worked out that there's nothing I can do at the source (excel file) to fix this is there?

Can I request your help on where in the flow I edit the flow so that the date is corrected? I'm lost at where to place the formula.

And what formula do I use?

MS flow diagram.JPG

9 REPLIES 9
Dual Super User
Dual Super User

Re: Excel table add date to email help

Hey @Excelrocks 

This is a very known issue with the MS Flow and Excel online connectors. The date/ time datatype columns from excel always return a number instead of the date time string. There are two wasy you can address this: 

1. Select the entire date column from excel and change the datatype to simple plain text. 

2. Refer to a few responses here to get the expression to convert that number to a readable date time string https://powerusers.microsoft.com/t5/Building-Flows/Excel-dates-turned-into-integers/td-p/130364

Hope this Helps!