cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
FBayer
Regular Visitor

Getting usable data for Condition from Outlook 365 email arrives (V3) trigger

This is my first time creating a Flow, so my apologies if I'm just being stupid.

Here's what I'm trying to do: When an e-mail arrives in my inbox from otherteam-area1@mycompany.comotherteam-area2@mycompany.com, etc., I want to automatically forward this to myteam-area1@mycompany.commyteam-area2@mycompany.com etc unless myteam-areaX@mycompany.com is already in the "To" or "CC" field of that e-mail.

To get started I decided to first do it for just one area, and then figure out how to have it work for each area. (Worst comes to worst, I guess I could just create 12 different flows for the 12 different areas, I guess.) However, it's not even working for the 1 area the way I've set it up, which is as follows:

1. Trigger: Outlook 365 "When a new email arrives (V3)" where From=otherteam-area1@mycompany.com
  2. Initialize variable myteam-area1 as String value myteam-area1@mycompany.com
  3. Condition: AND
    1. To (from Trigger) does not contain myteam-area1
    2. CC (from Trigger) does not contain myteam-area1

This creates the following error when run:

Unable to process template language expressions for action 'Condition' at line '1' and column '19537': 'The template language function 'contains' expects its first argument 'collection' to be a dictionary (object), an array or a string. The provided value is of type 'Null'.'.

This suggests that the To and CC fields from the trigger have a data type of 'Null' rather than 'dictionary', 'array', or 'string'.

So is there a way to transform these fields into an array or string that the Condition can use? Or, if not, is there a different trigger I should use?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
FBayer
Regular Visitor