cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Frequent Visitor

Making an approval flow secure

I am relatively new to Flows and I am creating simple approval flow following the outdated instructions found at   https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/power-automate/modern-approvals

This help document has you create a SharePoint list for your data which includes a boolean field called "Approved" to hold the approver's decision.  When a user submits an item to the list, the flow sends an email with a link for the user to approve or deny the submission.  If the approver approves, the flow sends a notification email and sets the SharePoint field "Approved" to true in the SharePoint list where the item was submitted.  If the approver denies the request, the flow sends an notification email and sets the "Approved" field to false.  This is pretty straightforward but my question is what about permissions?  If a user has rights to submit an item to SharePoint to start the flow, then they would have rights to manually modify the decision the approver made after the flow completed.  Hoping the users never figure how how to manually modify the SharePoint list is not an option.  It does not seem like SharePoint supports column level permissions.  

The one solution my meager brain thought of for this problem was to have two lists.  There would be a pending approval list accessible by the users where they would submit their items.  Upon the approver completing the approval, the flow would copy the item from the pending list to a processed list which would not be accessible by the user.  This solution would rely on the user context of the flow.  In this case would the flow run in the context of who created it (me), or of who started it (the user), or of who performed the approval action (the approver)? 

Thanks for any help and if there is a more elegant solution, I would love to hear it.

2 REPLIES 2
Highlighted
Resolver I
Resolver I