Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
PhilStanley
Helper I
Helper I

Switch function not working, expecting string and not object

I am a newbie so please bear with me.

I have created a Power Automated flow from a Form to Dataverse. Most of the items I have mapped to the fields. There are a few which I need to collect that come under the same name. I am trying to use a 'Switch' function to extract the relevant 32 character long strings (as I cannot access the actual form questions) but I've tried "List of response notifications", "Current Item", "Body" but keep getting variations of the following:
"The execution of template action 'Switch' failed: The result of the evaluation of 'scope' action expression '@items('Apply_to_each')' is not valid. It is of type 'Object' but is expected to be a value of type 'String, Integer'."Switch.png

I cannot find anywhere on the web where it can tell me what I should be putting in the Switch function for this to work.

Apart from the above error detail I also get a message saying:
"This is a new issue. Try posting about it on our community page—somebody may have a fix. Post it now"
Hence I am posting this. Any help is appreciated as I have been stuck on this same problem for about 4 days.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
DamoBird365
Community Champion
Community Champion

Hi @PhilStanley 

If only 1 has an answer and 14 are empty you can simply construct a concat expression as per my example above.  Concat will concatenate all of the answers from the 15 strings.  If only 1 is complete, you will end up with the 1 answer and no need to worry about complex switch statements.  Concating an empy string to and empty string gives you nothing and so it will only supply you with the single answer.

Go into the expression builder, type concat() and then back to dynamic and select each field you require with a comma between them all.