cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
tthompsonesri
Level: Powered On

Twitter Posts & Status 429

Hey Powerusers,

I've been running an MS flow for about the past 2 months, posting anywhere between 1 to 10 tweets a day. Recently, as of Oct 22nd, I'm beginning to see these flows fail. The body response and status code are as follows:

{
  "status": 429,
  "message": "This operation is rate limited by Twitter. Follow Twitter guidelines as given here: https://dev.twitter.com/rest/public/rate-limits.\r\nclientRequestId: dd21f737-b2ef-4819-89a5-1c45e8ddf855\r\nserviceRequestId: 8c38789158d886e033111b0c63d5f1e6;243256cb86dbefa9c4841312b919076a",
  "source": "twitter-ce.azconn-ce.p.azurewebsites.net"
}

I've done research on the Twitter API regarding rate limits on posts, and I cannot find anything specific related to MS Flow, or its rate limit time interval. The closest I found was this: https://developer.twitter.com/en/docs/basics/rate-limiting.html and https://twittercommunity.com/t/rate-limit-for-post-statuses-update/31411 where a Twitter Staff member mentions that its 2,400 tweets per day, broken down into 15 minute intervals. 

We're coming nowhere near close to this limit, at best we post 2 tweets every 15 minutes but its usually 1 an hour. 

Could this be an issue related specifically to the MS Flow Twitter connector? Why suddenly are we running into this issue after several months of this working in production?

Thanks in advance for your help,

Tom

41 REPLIES 41
Community Support Team
Community Support Team

Re: Twitter Posts & Status 429

Hi @tthompsonesri,

First check the details and limitations of the Twitter connector:

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/connectors/twitter/

The following are some of the limits and restrictions:

1. Maximum number of connections per user: 2
  2. API call rate limit for POST operation: 12 per hour
  3. API call rate limit for other operations: 600 per hour
  4. Frequency of trigger polls: 60 seconds