cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
LearningPAuto
Frequent Visitor

Update Existing Sharepoint list from Excel: Not all items updating

Hi - I am new to Power Automate and this Community, so please feel free to guide me in the right direction. 

Excel List: 1762 Rows

• Column A 'Client ID' (no duplicates in Excel Sheet)
  • Column B 'Value' to be uploaded

SharePoint List: 8602 Items

• Column 1 'Client ID' (duplicates)
  • Column 2 Destination for 'Value', based on value in Column 1

Goal: Update all Items in SharePoint list with 'Value' from Excel; So one row in Excel should update many items in SharePoint. 

I have built a Flow which is updating 90% of the items in the SharePoint list, but I am getting anomalies where Column 2 is not updating/matching Excel Column B. 

I originally thought that this was because of the 5000 item limit, so I cut my Excel List down into smaller sets (e.g. uploaded 600 rows each time) but this did not solve the issue. 

If I test by uploading one row from the Excel at a time then the upload is successful and the anomaly is fixed - but this defeats the objective. 

UPDATE: I have identified that 1588 records did not update correctly, meaning that the number that did update correctly exceeds the 5000 limit. 

UPDATE 2: I have tried loading records in smaller batches

- First attempt: 500 Excel Rows = 488 successful updates

-Second attempt: 1000 Excel Rows = 257 successful updates. 

I can't see a rhyme or reason why the upload would fail at these levels... Could there be something in my Excel source data that is tripping the flow? All columns are TEXT. 

4 REPLIES 4
Mira_Ghaly
Dual Super User II
Dual Super User II

@LearningPAuto 

Can you please share screenshot of your flow ?

If this post helps you with your problem, please mark your as Accepted solution.If you like my response, please give it a Thumbs Up.

Blog: here
LearningPAuto
Frequent Visitor

@Mira_Ghaly Does this help?