cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Community Champion
Community Champion

Compose or use variable?

I am relatively new to Flow, can anyone clarify when one should use variables or when instead one should use Compose?
I am paricularly confused about Compose, not sure what it is and how it is different from a variable.

Many thanks!

PS I think @v-micsh-msft@MikeInCairns or @ArtSys may be interested

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Community Support
Community Support

Re: Compose or use variable?

Hi @Meneghino,

Compose should be able to handle any kind of data Input.

Besides, I don't think Compose is similar to Collect() function.

I will try to explain from my own understanding.

Compare the whole Flow to math equation, then Compose Action should be considered as operators like +, -, *, /,

I think you have noticed that under Compose action in running details, there is only Outputs available,

Through the Compose Action, we could only get the result from the value input, but we can't change the Input, which means there is no way to modify the original input of the same compose,

For Variables, it should be the X parameter in the equation, which we could substitute with values,

Under the the running details, you should also noticed that it only contains Inputs, and it has the corresponding action to "Update" the X (original input) value.

Regards,

Michael

Community Support Team _ Michael Shao
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

Highlighted
Community Champion
Community Champion

Hi @v-micsh-msft

Thank you for following up.  In any case I have now found this documentation:

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/azure/logic-apps/logic-apps-workflow-actions-triggers#compose-actio...

It is not too clear, but also gives some indications.

4 REPLIES 4
Highlighted
Community Support
Community Support