cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
NandorR
Frequent Visitor

Failed to extract data (web page error while extracting data).

Hi!

I am currently trying to do a webscraping flow to copy data in a table to an excel file:

1. I used Recorder to identify which data to copy and I selected to extract HTML Table
  2. However when the flow completes, there is no data in the excel file.
  3. When i look at the Flow Variable itself, there is no values at all refer to pict below.
    image.png

Has anybody ever encountered such an issue before, and how do I resolve it?

19 REPLIES 19
Ankesh_49
Super User
Super User

Could you please share the PAD script you are using?

Hi Ankesh_49,

Thank you for the response! I am pretty new to PAD, so may I know what is the script you are referring to? Is it the screenshot below?image.png

Works fine.

Ankesh_49_0-1655889411013.png

Could you please share the Web url, you are using for data extraction.

Hi Ankesh,

I am unable to share the URLas it is a company intranet link. Is it possible that the intranet website is the reason why PAD is unable to pull anything?

Not at all.

Could you please try adding a delay after step 11 in your script.

Also, could you please confirm if you are getting below option while doing a record

Ankesh_49_0-1655891783597.png

Cheers,

Ankesh

--------------------------------

If this post helps answer your question, please click on “Accept as Solution” to help other members find it more quickly. If you thought this post was helpful, please give it a Thumbs Up.

VJR
Super User
Super User

@NandorR 

Instead of the recorder use the "Extract data from web page" action.

Also see on which Html tag are you selecting the "Extract entire html table"?

For example in this case I am doing it on the <th> tag and then able to see the columns in the preview section on the right.

Likewise play around and see which one works for you. 

Sometimes it is also the <table> tag.