Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
ASLR
Helper I
Helper I

Approval for dynamic users

Hi Guys,

I’m a newbie to Microsoft Flow and been using it for a couple days so far and was wondering if there was any sort of documentation on the new actions such as Get Manager, Get Profile etc to fully understand it.

Also, I’m trying to create a functional workflow for a Leave Request App where there are two sets of Approvals. Manager and HR.

List Columns

Title: Single line of Text

Start Date: Date and Time

End Date: Date and Time

Comments: Single line of Text

Approved: Yes/No

Manager: Person or Group

During the request at this point in time, the requester has to type in the Manager’s Name in the Manager field therefore this field is dynamic as each user has a different manager. The AD isn’t set up to know who belongs to which department and the assigned manager therefore it will be selected by the user upon the request. Is there a way to send the request to the manager for approval only when the user types in the Manager’s name?

Another issue is the HR has a SharePoint Group where all emails/requests coming in has to go to selected users. How can I select a SharePoint Group to assign a task to?

Are we allowed to do calculations using these flows or should we still use SharePoint Designer to do so?

Thanks in advance,

Much appreciated.

ASLR

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Accepted Solutions

Hi @ASLR,

A quick update on the PowerApps part. After doing some research, someone suggested a way to retrieve the current user's manager and automatically populate the corresponding manager field.

First, if you don't have a data connection to Office 365 Users, please set that up. Once you have this connection set up, these are the steps to follow:

1. On the screen where your form is located, set the screen OnStart property to this:
    Collect(UserProfileCollection, Office365Users.MyProfile())
  2. On the same screen, set the OnVisible property to this: