cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
LeewoC
Level: Powered On

Error 400 trying to create new SharePoint List Item

I want to write a flow that will create a new list item for each department in our organisation. 

There are 27 departments (at the moment) but that could change.

I could create 27 individual "Create Item" actions, 1 for each department but this doesn't seem very efficient and would have to be manually changed every time we added or removed a  department.

Trying to be more efficient I created a separate list called "Departments" and set the Department field on my new list to be a lookup of "Departments".  The lookup single item only.

I wrote a flow to get the "Departments" list and used 'Apply to each' to step through and create a new list item for each department returned.

However the flow fails when it tries to create a new list item and I'm not sure why.  I'm pretty new to flow so it's probably  my doing something wrong or taking the wrong approach but I really can't figure out what's happening.

The item data looks OK as far as I can tell (see below)

{
  "Title": "RS0001",
  "Does_x0020_the_x0020_Hazard_x002": {
    "Value": "YES",
    "@odata.type": "#Microsoft.Azure.Connectors.SharePoint.SPListExpandedReference"
  },
  "Are_x0020_Mitigating_x0020_Measu": {
    "Value": "NO",
  },
  "Are_x0020_the_x0020_Mitigating_x": {
    "Value": "NO",
  },
  "Number_x0020_of_x0020_Actions_x0": 0,
  "Number_x0020_of_x0020_Actions_x00": 0,
  "Status": {
    "Value": "Red",
  },
  "Department": {
    "Id": "AFCO",
  },
  "{ContentType}": {
    "Id": "0x0100FDBB848DFA381048978071668525AA54",
    "@odata.type": "#Microsoft.Azure.Connectors.SharePoint.SPListExpandedContentType"
  }
}

but the create item operation keeps crashing out with Status Code 400 and the following data

{
  "status": 400,
  "message": "A value must be provided for item.\r\nclientRequestId: 9e4629e5-867d-4088-9eda-70812d020381",