cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JamesMoyle
Frequent Visitor

Length function returning incorrect value

Hi All

I've been bashing my head against the wall trying to figure out why a length function was failing to pick up the variables with a particular number of characters. I decided to test it in a much more basic flow as below

JamesMoyle_0-1634149999863.png

Now I've got all my fingers and thumbs, so I didn't need to take my socks off for this one, and that looks like eight to me. So why is the result 10 (below)?? I'm pretty new to this, so I am sure that this is worth a few eye rolls 🙂

JamesMoyle_1-1634150055873.png

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Paulie78
Super User
Super User

It is returning the correct value. You are getting the length of the static string Get_DTENDa which is exactly 10 chaacters. You need to use length(variables('Get_DTENDa')) - that should return the value you expect.

Blog: tachytelic.net

YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/c/PaulieM/videos

If I answered your question, please accept it as a solution 😘

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
Paulie78
Super User
Super User

It is returning the correct value. You are getting the length of the static string Get_DTENDa which is exactly 10 chaacters. You need to use length(variables('Get_DTENDa')) - that should return the value you expect.

Blog: tachytelic.net

YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/c/PaulieM/videos

If I answered your question, please accept it as a solution 😘

View solution in original post

CFernandes
Super User
Super User

Hey @JamesMoyle 

Editing my Answer as @Paulie78 saw something I and you missed 🙂

You formula should be - 

length(variables('CheckLEnght'))

Please mark @Paulie78 Correct.