cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
elleeyl
Level: Powered On

Sum of row numbers and patch to another datasource

Hi,

I am very new to Powerapps and would really appreciate any help with my issue. Thank you.

I have 2 SharePoint lists and 2 screens.

Screen 1 uses datasource "header".

header.PNG

Screen 2 uses datasource "details".

details.PNG

How it should work is...

1. At Screen 1, when I click on "Create" button, it will patch all details entered onto "header" and  then navigate to Screen 2. There is a report ID "ReportID" generated.

2. Then at Screen 2, I would choose an Expense Type from the dropdown list, enter an Expense Amount and Expense Date, then click on "Button". I will repeat Step 2  for nth times until I have submitted all my receipts. Regardless how many individual expenses I submitted, as long as they belong to the same report (i.e. Screen 1 ReportID), each individual expense would carry the same ID as "ReportID".

a) Each clicking of "Button" in Screen 2 should patch all entries back to "details".

b) Also I need to sum up all the individual expense amounts submitted at Step 2. This total sum needs to be patched back to Screen 1 "header" datasource under TotalExpenseAmount.

This is the formula I used in Screen 1 "Create" button.

Set(current_claim_amount,0); Set(reportid, Value(DataCardValue9.Text));
Patch(
Header,
Defaults(Header),
{Title: DataCardValue18.Text, ReportID:reportid, Name:DataCardValue19.Text, EmailAddress:DataCardValue20.Text, Purpose: DataCardValue23.Text, Department: DataCardValue21.Text, TotalClaimAmount: current_claim_amount});
Refresh(Header);
Set(LastAddedItem,First(Sort(Header,reportid,SortOrder.Descending)));
Navigate(Screen2,None);

This is the formula i used in Screen 2 "Button" button.

Set(current_expense_amount,Value(DataCardValue44.Text));
Set(reportid2, Last(Header).'Report ID');
Patch(Details,

Defaults(Details),