Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
jdaraz
Level: Powered On

Retrieving the ID property of an EntityReference

Hi,

I've have just started my adventures in PCF and I have come across a problem I hope someone can help with.

I have created a custom control passing in a dataset which contains an owner column. I am trying to retrieve the id of this owner, by doing the following:

let owner = this._dataset.records[recordId].getValue("ownerid") as ComponentFramework.EntityReference;

TypeScript then offers me the following options in intellisense:

Code_2019-08-01_09-35-01.png

So I choose "owner.id" to get the id.

However, when this code runs this "id" is not the id, but an object containing a property called "guid":

msedge_2019-08-01_09-38-54.png

If I try to use owner.id.guid in my TypeScript file I get an error and it fails to build.

Am I doing something wrong here? I am pretty new to TypeScript so probability is high.

Thanks

Jason

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
PowerApps Staff GregHurlmanMSFT
PowerApps Staff

Re: Retrieving the ID property of an EntityReference

@jdaraz - It's not you, it looks like you've found a bug in our TypeScript type definition file. To work around it, you can modify the file in your project:

Open <project directory>\node_modules\@types\powerapps-component-framework\componentframework.d.ts.

Modify line 1257 from

id: string;

to

id: { guid: string };

This will allow the TypeScript compiler's typechecking to pass.

I am in the process of getting our type files and documentation updated to reflect runtime reality; will update the thread once those changes have gone through.

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3
PowerApps Staff

@jdaraz - It's not you, it looks like you've found a bug in our TypeScript type definition file. To work around it, you can modify the file in your project:

Open <project directory>\node_modules\@types\powerapps-component-framework\componentframework.d.ts.