cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Helper III
Helper III

Have a form with read only fields filled dynamically

I want to have a form where I fill the value for some fields in it (for them to be read-only) dynamically. So I want to pass a query string for the department ID, and when I fill a new value for the programmer, I want to add a new entry in the programmer entry with a reference to that department. If I add a new component from the left side and choose form, am not able to do this. Any hint or idea how to do this would be great. I'm still new to PowerApps portals. 

20 REPLIES 20
Highlighted

the way you were adding the entity form should work in my opinion, not sure why it wasn't refreshing, but I am glad it worked via Portal Management App, I personally find it more reliable

as you mentioned you already have a relationship between Department and Programmer (1:N), so a department contains a list of programmers, this is usually represented by a sub-grid in your CDS form

the below posts/video show how to add a subgrid to your CDS form, those are old posts and are showing in the classic view, you can use the new modern view or switch to classic when customizing your CDS form

https://www.websan.com/blog/item/714-sub-grids-in-dynamics-365-everything-you-need-in-one-place

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WtWP4HuI7xc

once you have your subgrid in the form, you need to add an Entity Form Metadata related to the subgrid: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8TgpYEaShzo

If you like this post, give a Thumbs up. Where it solved your request, Mark it as a Solution to enable other users find it.

Power Apps Portals Super User

Oliver Rodrigues

Highlighted

Thanks @OliverRodrigues I'll try it out now. 

Highlighted