Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
LukasSliuzas
Helper II
Helper II

Update text input field depending on selection

Hello,

I am still learning the powerapps syntax and how to do stuff and currently stuck on this issue.

I got drop down menu with multiple choices but when choice "Other" is selected text field appears and I need information to be sended to SP list.

I tried writing like this:

If(DataCardValue3.Selected.Value = "Andere", TextInput1.Text, DataCardValue3.Selected.Value) But I am getting an error with this. 

Of cource it would be perfect if it printer this to the list: DataCarKey3 - TextInput1

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

I managed to work out solution:

If(
DataCardValue3.Selected.Value="Andere",
{
'@odata.type': "#Microsoft.Azure.Connectors.SharePoint.SPListExpandedReference",
Id: 0,
Value: TextInput1.Text
},
DataCardValue3.Selected
)

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
FernandoTC
Resolver II
Resolver II

Hi @LukasSliuzas 

I would appreciate if you can provide more info. However lets work with what we have until the moment.

As I can figure out, you got a Form to write in your SP list. Among the data cards within your Form, there is one particular (DataCard3) with the DropDown control that displays several choices, being one of them "Other".

What you need here is that, when the user selects "Other" on the DropDown list, one TextInput appears and the data sent to SP list on that particular field is the one the user types into the TextInput instead of the selected item "Other" in the dropdown.

If I supposed correctly everything above, the problem here might be that the field you are trying to update/summit is a choice field in the sharepoint list. This means you cannot add one value that is outside the options available for that field.